# ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Town House, ABERDEEN, 5 March 2018

#### MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

#### Sederunt:

Lord Provost Barney Crockett, <u>Chairperson</u>; Depute Provost Alan Donnelly; and

# COUNCILLORS

YVONNE ALLAN CHRISTIAN ALLARD ALISON ALPHONSE PHILIP BELL MARIE BOULTON DAVID CAMERON JOHN COOKE **NEIL COPLAND** WILLIAM CORMIE STEVEN DELANEY JACQUELINE DUNBAR LESLEY DUNBAR SARAH DUNCAN STEPHEN FLYNN GORDON GRAHAM **ROSS GRANT** MARTIN GREIG **DELL HENRICKSON** RYAN HOUGHTON **BRETT HUNT** MICHAEL HUTCHISON **CLAIRE IMRIE** 

FREDDIE JOHN JENNIFER LAING DOUGLAS LUMSDEN SANDRA MACDONALD **NEIL MacGREGOR AVRIL MacKENZIE CATRIONA MacKENZIE** ALEXANDER McLELLAN CIARÁN McRAE M. TAUQEER MALIK THOMAS MASON MSP ALEXANDER NICOLL JAMES NOBLE JOHN REYNOLDS **GILLIAN SAMARAI** PHILIP SELLAR JENNIFER STEWART SANDY STUART **GORDON TOWNSON** JOHN WHEELER and

Lord Provost Barney Crockett, in the Chair

IAN YUILL

The agenda and reports associated with this minute can be found at:https://committees.aberdeencity.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=122&Mld=6121&Ver=4

Please note that if any changes are made to this minute at the point of approval, these will be outlined in the subsequent minute and this document will not be retrospectively altered.

#### **DECLARATION OF INTEREST**

**1.** Councillor Mason MSP declared an interest as Member of the Scottish Parliament for North East Scotland.

# **REVIEW OF COMMUNITY COUNCIL GOVERNANCE - CG/17/135**

**2.** With reference to Article 1 of the minute of its special meeting of 11 December 2017, the Council had before it a report by the Chief Officer - Governance which presented the responses received during the public consultation and the amended Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, including boundary changes for various Community Councils.

## The report recommended:-

that the Council -

- (a) approve the revisions to the Scheme and associated documents as set out in Appendix 1;
- (b) approve the boundary and name changes for Community Councils as outlined in Appendix 2;
- (c) note the two proposals for the boundary change between Bucksburn and Newhills and Dyce and Stoneywood Community Councils as outlined in sections 3.5 to 3.8 of the report and in Appendix 2;
- (d) approve the proposed action to be taken in relation to Bucksburn and Newhills and Dyce and Stoneywood Community Council boundaries as outlined at section 3.9 of the report;
- (e) note the two proposals for the boundary change between the City Centre and Ferryhill and Ruthrieston Community Councils as outlined at section 3.10 of the report and in Appendix 2;
- (f) approve the proposed action to be taken in relation to the City Centre and Ferryhill and Ruthrieston Community Council boundaries as outlined at section 3.11 of the report:
- (g) note the position between Froghall, Powis and Sunnybank Community Council and George Street Community Council on the boundary proposal as outlined at section 3.12 of the report;
- (h) approve the issue of a public notice inviting members of the public to comment on the amended Scheme and associated documents:
- (i) note the content of the consultation responses and resulting actions as outlined in Appendix 3; and
- (j) note that a report providing the outcome of the second phase of public consultation and requesting approval of the final Scheme and boundaries will be submitted to a special meeting of Council in July 2018.

## The Council resolved:-

- (i) to approve the recommendations; and
- (ii) to note that reference to the River Don on page 46 of the report pack in relation to Torry Community Council should be the River Dee.

# - BARNEY CROCKETT, Lord Provost.